POLS Awards Ceremony, Sunday, 1:30 (May 8)

The Department of Political Science will celebrate graduation this Sunday, May 8, 2011 with an awards ceremony for distinguished POLS graduates. The ceremony will take place in Konover Auditorium (Dodd Center) at 1:30 pm. A reception will follow.

The awards include:

Alvin Dozeman Award
Given annually to the undergraduate junior or senior who prepares the best paper on his or her internship experience.

Augusta H. Gerberich Scholarship
Given annually to a junior or senior majoring in political science whose special field of interest is international relations. Preference is given to female students. The award
is based on high levels of scholastic aptitude and scholastic success, financial need, and promise of leadership.

Fannie Dixon Welch Scholarship
Given annually to a junior or senior female political science major with a special interest in international relations and public policy who is a Democrat, registered in Connecticut.

Fund For Legal Studies Fellowship
Given Annually to two undergraduate students, with preference to seniors, in recognition of scholarly achievement and who intend to pursue degrees in political science, with priority given to students who plan to enter law school after graduation.

I. Ridgway Davis Pre-Law Scholarship
Given annually to an undergraduate with an outstanding academic record who has been accepted for entry to law school.

Irving Smirnoff Award
Given annually to undergraduate juniors and/or seniors to provide financial support.

Jaime B. Cheshire ’99 Endowed Internship Award
To provide financial support for an undergraduate enrolled in the University’s Department of Political Science within the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

John G. Hill, Jr. and John G. Hill, III/Political Science Excellence
Given to upper division students, usually seniors, who have achieved outstanding academic records or who otherwise merit special recognition.

Mark S. Rudy Scholarship
Given annually to a full-time CLAS undergraduate student who intends to study law and have a serious interest in a career which includes providing legal services to the

Reiter Senior Award for Graduate Study in Political Science
Given annually to the undergraduate senior who plans to study political science at the graduate level.

Senior Writing Prize
Given annually to the students who write the finest honors or distinction thesis.

This entry was posted in Undergraduate. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s